Having taken into consideration the richness & diversity of the Sri Lankan cultural milieu, The Tower Hall Theatre Foundation takes upon itself to be the custodians of the tradition of performing Art Forms and is committed to:

  • Foster indigenous traditional theatre.
  • Be concerned of the welfare and well-being of serving artistes of the bygone era and their dependants.
  • To heighten awareness of the citizenry regarding traditional theoretical art forms.
  • Increase the quality of life of the citizens by providing wholesome entertainment of a cultural genre.
  • Be repository of Sri Lankan historical cultural art forms while promoting ethnic religious harmony.
  • The Tower Hall Theatre Foundation (THTF) was established under the THTF Act No. 01 of 1978. Its Head Office is honed at `Sausiripaya`, 123, Wijerama Mawatha, Colombo 07.

    Our Objectives
    The aims and objectives of the Foundation shall be:
  • To encourage and promote national Theatrical activities.
  • To develop and propagate the knowledge, understanding and practice of the Theatre.
  • To provide financial assistance to Theatre artistes and craftsmen, and to assist in the training of artistes.
  • To engage in the production, experimentation and performance of opera, dance, drama and music.
  • To restore, preserve, maintain and utilize the Tower Hall Theatre as a national monument in order to secure the objectives set out above and for such other purposes as the Board of management of Tower Hall Theatre Foundation deem fit.
  • Beside the objectives emphasized in the T.H.T.F. Act No 1 of 1978 , the administration of the Foundation headed by its Director General, with the approval of the Hon Minister in charge of the Subject (Minister of Cultural Affairs ) the Foundation envisages Following activities too. Further Objectives rather Objectives.
  • Propagation and improvement of National Theatrical activities and the, preservation of famous and lesser known Nurthi songs and enhancing the quality of art forms connected with theatre.
  • To assist eminent Artistes financially for the production of quality Dramas and presentation of such performances to urban and rural audiences country wide.
  • Affording welfare facilities such as medical checkups with follow – up reports and medicine prescribed by competent doctors in the respective fields , at the cost of the Foundation to performing Artistes both in the traditional and contemporary art forms;To bring to surface the in-born talents of the up- coming Artistes in providing them with a systematic training by versatile renowned teachers in relevant fields.
  • Affording material, equipment etc, that are necessary for the performance and education of drama and music.
  • Hon. Ranasinghe Premadasa
    1978.11.07 - 1989.01.02
    Hon. D. B. Wijethunga
    1989.03.06 - 1990.03.28
    Hon. D. B. Wijethunga
    1990.03.30 - 1993.03.07
    Hon.Ranil Wickramasinghe
    1993.05.07 - 1994.08.19
    Hon. Chandrika Bandaranayake Kumarathunge
    1994. 08. 19 - 1994. 11. 12
    Hon. Sirimawo Bandaranayeke
    1994. 11. 12 - 2000. 10. 10
    Hon Rathnasiri Wickramanayeke
    2000.10.11 - 2001.12.05
    Hon. Ranil Wickramasinghe
    2001.12.06 - 2004.04.02
    Hon. Mahinda Rajapkshe
    2004. 04. 03 - 2005. 11. 17
    Hon Rathnasiri Wickramanayeke
    2005.11.18 - 2010.04.20
    Hon.D.M. Jayarathna
    2010. 04. 21 - 2015. 01. 09
    Hon. Ranil Wickramasinghe
    2015.01.09 - 2018.08.21
    Hon. Ranil Wickramasinghe
    2015.08.24 - 2018.10.26
    Hon. Mahinda Rajapkshe
    2018.10.26 - 2018.12.15
    Hon. Ranil Wickramasinghe
    2018.12.16 - 2019.11.21
    Hon. Mahinda Rajapkshe
    2019.11.21 - 2020.08.05
    Hon. Mahinda Rajapkshe
    2020.08.09 - 2022.05.09
    Hon. Ranil Wickramasinghe
    2022.05.25 - 2022.07.21
    Mr A. J. Ranasinghe
    1978 - 1984 April
    Mr Disa Weerapana
    1984 April - 1989 December
    Mr Benadik Kumarage
    1994 January - 1994 October
    Mr W.D.W. Abheyawardhana
    1994 October - 1995 January
    Mr Ranjith Dharmakeerthi
    1995 January - 2000 October
    Mrs. Indika P.chandrathilake
    2000 October - 2004 August
    Mr N.W.Weralupitiya
    2004 September - 2005 December
    Mr Douglas Siriwardhana
    2005 December - 2015 February
    Mr Lianol Fernando
    2015.07.02 - 2017.03.09
    Mr.Gamini Karaiyawasam
    2018.06.01 - 2019.12.06
    Mr Douglas Siriwardhana (attorney at law)
    2020.01.02 - 2021.02.28
    Email: dg@towerhall.lk
    Email: Nipuna@towerhall.lk
    Email: programme@towerhall.lk
    Email: adtamil@towerhall.lk
    Email: ao@towerhall.lk
    Email: elp.thtf@gmail.com
    Email: chandanawijesinghe78@gmail.com
    Email: rukmmc@gmail.com
    Email: audit@towerhall.lk